Home>Local>Atlantic>Levinson easily wins 6th term as Atlantic County Executive

Atlantic County Executive Dennis Levinson

Levinson easily wins 6th term as Atlantic County Executive

All incumbent freeholders win

By David Wildstein, November 06 2019 3:11 am

Atlantic County Executive Dennis Levinson coasted to a sixth term, easily defeating Democrat Susan Korngut, a Northfield Councilwoman.

Levinson won 62%, defeating Korngut by 10,552 votes.

Republicans had no trouble holding their 6-3 majority on the freeholder board.

Freeholder Director Amy Gatto was re-elected to her at-large seat with 59% against Democrat Nick Polito.

Another Republican incumbent, Rich Dase, held his District 4 seat with 57% against Democrat Steve Light.

In District 1, Democrat Ernest Coursey defeated Republican Sam Majumder with 78%.

Atlantic City’s lone Republican councilman, Jesse O. Kurtz, won 76% in his bid for re-election to his Ward 6 seat.

Coursey won freeholder races in 2013 and 2016 after serving eleven years as a councilman in Atlantic City.  He ran unopposed three years ago.

A fixture in Atlantic County politics since he won a Northfield city council seat in 1981, Levinson spent fourteen years as a freeholder before winning before winning a race for county executive in 1999.

Levinson won his fifth term four years ago with 63% of the vote against James Schroeder.   Schroeder had dropped out of the race for health reasons after the September deadline to replace him on the ballot.

Korngut, a family law attorney, was elected councilwoman in the Republican-controlled city in 2017, defeating former Press of Atlantic City managing editor Peter Brophy with 59% of the vote.  She won the open seat of Republican Nicholas Piergiovanni.

Spread the news:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *