Home>Local>Steinhardt’s GOP sweeps Phillipsburg

Republican State Chairman Doug Steinhardt. Photo by Nikita Biryukov for the New Jersey Globe.

Steinhardt’s GOP sweeps Phillipsburg

Republicans easily re-elect sheriff, freeholder

By David Wildstein, November 06 2019 2:55 am

Republican Todd Tersigni was elected Mayor of Phillipsburg on Tuesday, defeating incumbent Stephen Ellis by a sizeable 55%-41% margin.

Tersigni’s running mates, former mayor Harry Wyant and Randy Piazza, Jr., won council seats, defeating Democrats James Stettner and incumbent Lee Clark.  The GOP will now have a 5-0 majority on the town council.

The pickup of Phillipsburg by the Republicans is a significant triumph for Warren County GOP Chairman Doug Steinhardt, who is also the Republican State Chairman.

Last month, Steinhardt helped flip Democratic councilman Mark Lutz to the Republicans.  A local school board member soon followed.

Tersigni is a former two-term Democratic councilman who ran as an independent mayoral candidate in 2011,

Ellis defeated Wyant in 2015.

In heavily Republican Warren County, Phillipsburg is a swing town.

In 2018, Phillipsburg gave Democrat Tom Malinowski a 273-vote margin in his bid to unseat Rep. Leonard Lance (R-Clinton Township), but Republican U.S. Senate candidate Bob Hugin won the town by 14 votes.

Donald Trump carried it by 275 votes in 2016 and Phil Murphy won it by 68 votes in 2017.

Warren County Sheriff James McDonald, Sr. was re-elected 66% of the vote over Democrat Scott McDonald.

Freeholder Jason Sarnoski defeated Democrat Carol Cook with 63%.

Spread the news:
Filter by
Post Page
Highlight Legislature Presidential Election Congress Campaigns Governor Monmouth Warren
Sort by

Steinhardt wants 4th presidential debate — in New Jersey

13 GOP legislators join Steinhardt’s call
August 7, 2020 2:11 pm


Steinhardt says Malinowski opposed 2006 bill to create national sex offender registry, but official disputes that

Former Human Rights Watch official says GOP is wrong, that Malinowski was not involved in
August 6, 2020 6:33 pm


Report: Golden slams Steinhardt, alleging disconnect with county organizations

Monmouth Republican chair calls GOP State Chairman ‘impudent and
August 5, 2020 6:35 pm


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *