Home>Highlight>DePhillips, Rooney re-elected

Assemblyman Chris DePhillips. Facebook Photo.

DePhillips, Rooney re-elected

By David Wildstein, November 05 2019 8:25 pm

The New Jersey Globe is projecting that Republican incumbents Christopher DePhillips and Kevin Rooney have been re-elected to the New Jersey State Assembly in the 40th district.

They defeated Little Falls Councilwoman Maria Martini Cordonnier and former Bergen County Freeholder Julie O’Brien, the Democratic candidates.

Rooney won a special election convention to replace Scott Rumana, who was nominated for a Superior Court Judgeship.  DePhillips took the seat of David Russo, who retired in 2017 after 28 years in the Assembly.  Both are former Wyckoff mayors.

O’Brien entered the race after Ridgewood Councilman Michael Sedon withdrew.

Republicans have not lost the 40th since it was first created in 1973.

Spread the news:
Filter by
Post Page
Highlight Governor Legislature Feature
Sort by

DePhillips: Neuwirth firing not just a personnel issue

Assemblyman concerned former assistant commissioner’s side-jobs may be an ethics
June 2, 2020 5:13 pm


DePhillips seeks answers on Neuwirth firing, wants state ethics probe

Assemblyman: ‘Merely stating that Mr. Neuwirth is no longer an employee of the
May 29, 2020 11:48 am


Rooney, DePhillips decline second LWV debate, saying first one was unfair

40th district candidates debated in Wayne on October 3
October 27, 2019 3:06 pm


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *