Home>Highlight>Swain, Tully win full terms in State Assembly

Assemblyman Christopher Tully, let, Assemblywoman Lisa Swain, and State Sen. Joseph Lagana.

Swain, Tully win full terms in State Assembly

By David Wildstein, November 05 2019 8:25 pm

The New Jersey Globe is projecting that Democratic incumbents Lisa Swain and Christopher Tully have been re-elected to the New Jersey State Assembly in the 38th district.

They defeated Paramus Councilman Christopher DiPiazza and Rochelle Park Mayor Michael Kazimir, the Republican candidates.

Tully and Swain were both elected in special election conventions in 2018 amidst a game of political musical chairs.

State Sen. Bob Gordon was appointed to the New Jersey Board of Public Utilities and Assemblyman Joseph Lagana moved up to the Senate to replace him.  Lagana’s running mate, Tim Eustace, wanted the Senate seat and when he didn’t get it, took a job as deputy executive director of the North Jersey Water Commission.

From 1973 until just recently, the 38th was one of New Jersey’s premier battleground districts with Senate and Assembly seats flipping with great frequency.  Just six years ago, Republicans came within just 56 votes of winning an Assembly seat and 443 votes of wining two.

Spread the news:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *