Home>Articles>Lagana, Swain, Tully win

State Sen. Joseph Lagana (D-Paramus). New Jersey Globe Photo.

Lagana, Swain, Tully win

By Nikita Biryukov, November 06 2018 8:20 pm

State Sen. Joseph Lagana, Assemblywoman Lisa Swain and Assemblyman Chris Tully won in the 38th legislative district and will serve the remaining year of their terms.

Lagana will beat Republican Daisy Ortiz Berger by 20 points, 60%-40%.

The state senator got 38,803 votes to his challenger’s 25,833.

Swain and Tully defeat Republicans Gail Horton and Jayme Ouellette.

Swain secured 38,372 votes while Tully received 37,188. They took 30% and 29% of the vote, respectively.

Horton and Ouellette each received about 20% of the votes cast, with 25,992 voting for Horton and 25,573 casting ballots for Ouellette.

Lagana ascended from the Assembly to the Senate earlier this year to replace Bob Gordon, who resigned in April to take a spot on the state’s Board of Public Utilities.

Swain and Tully were appointed to fill seats left vacant by Lagana and Timothy Eustace, who resigned to become deputy executive director of the North Jersey District Water Commission after being passed over for the Senate seat.

Spread the news:
Filter by
Post Page
Highlight Legislature Bergen
Sort by

Senator Joe Lagana to join Cleary Giacobbe law firm

Garcia, DeMarco joining Lagana in move to new firm
September 11, 2019 10:55 am


Lagana gives Juliano high marks

Bergen Dem Chair leads one of the state’s strongest party organizations
September 10, 2019 2:59 pm


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *