Home>Congress>Last day for four NJ House Republicans

Last day for four NJ House Republicans

Frelinghuysen, Lance, LoBiondo, MacArthur leave office tomorrow

By David Wildstein, January 02 2019 10:15 am

Today is the last day in office for four New Jersey Republicans whose service in the U.S. House of Representatives will end at noon tomorrow.

Democrats flipped all four seats in the November 6, 2018 mid-term elections.

Reps. Rodney Frelinghuysen (R-Harding) and Frank LoBiondo (R-Ventnor) did not seek re-election to th 13th terms in Congress.  Reps. Tom MacArthur (R-Toms River) and Leonard Lance (R-Clinton) were unseated by their Democratic challengers.

Frelinghuysen, 72, closes out a 44-year career as an elected official.  He was first elected to the Morris County Board of Freeholders in 1974, to the New Jersey State Assembly in 1983, and to Congress in 1994.

Democrat Mikie Sherrill, a former U.S. Navy helicopter pilot and federal prosecutor, entered the race to challenge Frelinghuysen in 2017.  Frelinghuysen announced in late January that he would not run again, walking away from the chairmanship of the House Appropriations Committee after just two years.  Sherrill defeated Assemblyman Jay Webber (R-Morris Plains) to win a seat Republicans had held since 1984.

With Democrats winning control of the house, Frelinghuysen would have lost that post anyway.

LoBiondo, also 72, was elected to the Cumberland County freeholder board in 1984, to the Assembly in 1987, and to Congress in 1994.

The 2nd district occupied for 24 years by LoBiondo will now be held by Democrat Jeff Van Drew (D-Dennis), the chairman of the New Jersey Senate Military and Veterans Affairs Committee.  Van Drew defeated Republican Seth Grossman, a former Atlantic County freeholder.

MacArthur, 58, was seeking his third term in the House.  He was elected to the Randolph Township Council in 2010, served as mayor in 2013, and moved to South Jersey in 2014 to run for an open congressional seat.

Democrat Andy Kim, a former Obama White House staffer, narrowly defeated MacArthur in the mid-term election.

Lance, 66, was elected to the State Assembly in 1991 and the State Senate in 2001.  He was the Senate Minority Leader from 2004 through 2007 and was elected to Conrgess in 2008.  Lance was defeated for a fifth term by Democrat Tom Malinowski, a former assistant U.S. Secretary of State.

Seven other New Jersey House members won re-election in 2018 and will take their oaths of office tomorrow.

Rep. Christopher Smith (R-Hamilton) will be the only Republican in the New Jersey delegation.

Spread the news:
Filter by
Post Page
Highlight Atlantic Passaic Bergen Legislature
Sort by

Atlantic Dems hit Republicans over anonymous release attacking supporter’s son

Republican freeholder candidate says he didn’t send it
October 7, 2019 12:37 pm


Republicans launch attacks in LD39

Democrats call them a distraction
October 2, 2019 5:55 pm


LD8 Republicans renew call for Dems to condemn Norcross-linked PAC

Tax incentives becoming an issue in Camden-adjacent district
September 30, 2019 5:30 pm


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *