Home>Articles>Passaic GOP line goes to Ciattarelli

Former Assemblyman Jack Ciattarelli. (Photo: Kevin Sanders for New Jersey Globe)

Passaic GOP line goes to Ciattarelli

By David Wildstein, February 20 2021 7:30 pm

Passaic County Republicans today endorsed Jack Ciattarelli for governor.

“The Passaic County Regular Republican Organization is proud to unanimously endorse Jack Ciattarelli as our next Governor of New Jersey,” said Peter Murphy, the GOP county chairman.  “Jack’s business success and strong conservative family values are the embodiment of the spirit of Passaic County. My committee and I are 100% behind Jack and look forward to making Phil Murphy ‘one and done’ in ‘21.”

The Passaic GOP also endorsed former Ringwood Councilman William Marsala, former Wayne Councilwoman Aileen Rivera, and Totowa businessman Nicolino Gallo to run for county commissioner.

State Sen. Kristin Corrado (R-Totowa) received party support to seek a second term in the Senate, along with Assemblymen Christopher DePhillips (R-Wyckoff) and Kevin Rooney (R-Wyckoff) in the 40th district.

As previously reported by the New Jersey Globe, Assemblywoman Holly Schepisi (R-River Vale) will run on the Passaic GOP line for State Senate in the 39th district.

The vote occurred following the death of State Sen. Gerald Cardinale (R-Demarest) this morning.  Assemblyman Bob Auth (R-Old Tappan) will run on the line with Schepisi and Saddle River Councilman John Azzariti.

Passaic Republicans have not yet endorsed a candidate in the 26th district, where Christian Barranco, a former Pompton Lakes councilman, is challenging incumbents Jay Webber (R-Morris Plains) and BettyLou DeCroce (R-Parsippany) for a State Assembly seat.  No endorsement was made for the Senate, where Minority Whip Joseph Pennacchio (R-Montville) is unopposed.

Republicans do not yet have candidates in the 34th and 35th districts.

Ciattarelli became the presumptive nominee to take on Murphy in the fall after former GOP State Chairman Doug Steinhardt withdrew from the race last month.

The former Somerset County assemblyman faces a challenge from former Franklin Mayor Brian D. Levine, social media consultant Joseph Rudy Rullo, Rev. Phil Rizzo and perennial candidate Hirsh Singh.

Spread the news: