Home>Articles>Where local races stand in Atlantic County

Atlantic City Mayor Marty Small, Sr.

Where local races stand in Atlantic County

By Joey Fox, November 03 2021 12:34 pm


Two Democratic incumbents on the Absecon Council – at-large Councilman Stephen Light and Ward 2 Councilwoman Sandra Cain – have won re-election unopposed, while Republican Ward 1 Councilman Nick Larotonda has won re-election over Democrat Nicholas Tiberio with 72% of the vote.

Atlantic City

Democratic Mayor Marty Small, Sr. won his bid for a full first term over Republican Tom Forkin 56-26%, with a number of independent candidates taking the remainder. Democrats also held three at-large council seats with incumbent Councilman George Tibbitt and newcomers Bruce Weekes and Stephanie Marshall. 


Republican Councilman At-Large Neil Kane won re-election to the Brigantine Council unopposed.


Two Republican incumbents on the Buena Borough Council, Rosalie Baker and Joseph Mancuso, appear to be losing to their Democratic challengers, Gina and Patricia Andaloro. Patricia Andaloro leads the field with 28% of the vote, followed by Gina Andaloro at 27%; Baker and Mancuso trail with 24% and 21%, respectively.

Buena Vista

Republicans Aaron Krenzer and Ellen Testa, the latter of whom is State Sen. Michael Testa (R-Vineland)’s mother, easily defeated Democrats Carlo Favretto, Jr. and Ronnise White for two seats on Buena Vista Township Committee. Both Republicans got around 35% of the vote, while both Democrats got around 15%.

Corbin City

Republican Councilwoman LaVerne Kirn leads Democratic challenger Nikki Nichols 54-46% in her bid for re-election to the Corbin City Council.

Egg Harbor City

Three incumbent Republicans on the Egg Harbor City Council – Robin Sefton, Joseph Ricci, Jr., and Ingrid Nieves-Clark – have defeated their three Democratic challengers. The Republicans averaged around 19% of the vote each, with the Democrats trailing at around 14% each.

Egg Harbor Township

Egg Harbor Township Republicans retained their 5-0 majority on the township committee, with incumbent Committeeman Ray Ellis and Joseph “Tokyo” O’Donoghue beating Democrats James “Bear” Pesce and Shawn O’Brien, 34-33-17-17%. 

Estell Manor

Republican Councilwoman Betsy Owen was elected mayor of Estell Manor, defeating incumbent mayor Joseph Venezia, who ran as an independent, 56-44%. Two Republican Council candidates, Christine Masker and Dane Lamcken, won unopposed.


Folsom Council President Greg Conway and Councilman Albert Norman, both Republicans, won re-election unopposed.


Republicans have defeated two incumbent Democrats, flipped one open Democratic seat, and held one seat of their own on the Galloway Township Council, increasing their majority from 4-3 to 7-0. 

Mayor Jim Gorman and Deputy Mayor Mary Crawford were among the Democrats defeated by the Republican slate of RJ Amato III, Tom Bassford, Clifton Sudler, and Muhammad Umar. The Republicans each averaged around 16% of the vote to the Democrats’ 9%. 


Committeeman Richard Cheek and Susan Hopkins, both Republicans, defeated Democratic Committeeman Rodney Guishard and running mate Robin Moore for the Hamilton Township Council, 33-31-18-18%.


The Hammonton First party, an independent party that typically runs in place of Democrats in Hammonton elections, is leading Republican challengers for the mayoralty and three council seats. 

Mayor Steve DiDonato currently leads Republican Bill Cappuccio 53-47% for the mayoralty, while his council slate – Deputy Mayor Tom Gribbin, Councilman Jonathan Oliva, and former Councilman Ed Wuillermin – hold narrow leads over their three Republican challengers. 


Every Linwood Republican on the ballot – At-Large Councilman Matthew Levinson, Ward 1 Councilwoman June Byrnes, Ward 2 Councilman Todd Michael, and Blair Albright, also running in Ward 2 – have won unopposed.


Mayor Kristin Hanselmann, Councilman Bruce Crowe, and Councilwoman Deanna DeMarco, all Republicans, defeated their Democratic challengers for the Mullica Township Committee.


Republican Northfield Councilman Greg Dewees defeated Democratic fellow Councilman Frank Perri for an at-large council seat 60-40%; Councilman Brian Smith won re-election to Ward 1 unopposed; and Democratic Ward 2 Councilwoman Barbara Madden lost badly to Republican Carolyn Bucci, 36-64%.


Democratic Councilmen Tony Davenport and Victor Carmona, alongside Democratic candidate Bert Correa, all won seats on the Pleasantville Council unopposed.

Port Republic

Republican Niki Giberson has been elected mayor of Port Republic, and Republican Councilmembers Steven Allgeyer and Doris Bugdon were re-elected; all were unopposed.

Somers Point

Somers Point Council President Janice Johnston and Councilman Howard Dill, both Republicans, won re-election. Dill was unopposed, while Johnston defeated Democrat Lisa Bender 62-38%.


Republican Weymouth Mayor Kenneth Haeser won re-election to the township committee unopposed.

Spread the news: