Home>Articles>Unopposed, Sea Isle incumbents sail to re-election

Sea Isle City Mayor Leonard Desiderio, a Cape May County Freeholder

Unopposed, Sea Isle incumbents sail to re-election

Mayor fares better than council counterparts

By Nikita Biryukov, May 14 2019 10:47 pm

Incumbents in Sea Isle City soared to re-election unopposed.

Mayor Leonard Desiderio won 450 votes.

Seven voters opted to write in a name rather than vote for Desiderio.

Councilmen William Kehner and Frank Edwardi fared a little worse than the mayor, winning 416 and 390 votes, respectively.

That means that some voters chose to back Desiderio but not his compatriots on the council.

An ever-so-slightly larger number of voters — 10 — chose to vote for someone not on the ballot in the council race, but it’s possible that as few as five voters chose to write in a name, as residents get two votes for council, one for each seat up for election.

Spread the news:
Filter by
Post Page
Highlight Legislature Local Cape May
Sort by

Sarlo is unopposed in Wood-Ridge, where he’s been mayor for 20 years

One of three North Jersey mayors to also serve in Senate
June 14, 2019 2:54 pm


Sea Isle City mayor unopposed next week

No opposition for Desiderio, two incumbent councilmen
May 8, 2019 12:50 pm


Avalon mayor unopposed in bid for 8th term

One challenger for two borough council seats
May 8, 2019 11:11 am


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *