Home>Articles>Where will Addiego sit?

Where will Addiego sit?

By David Wildstein, January 28 2019 6:48 pm

The New Jersey Office of Legislative Services has two days to physically move State Sen. Dawn Addiego’s desk in the New Jersey State Senate from the Republican side.

Addiego now sits in one of the Republican rows in the Senate, between Joseph Pennacchio (R-Montville) and Steve Oroho (R-Franklin).

Seating assignments are made by Senate President Steve Sweeney.

Sweeney can move James Holzapfel (R-Tomes River) to Addiego’s seat and then and then put her in Holzapfel’s seat, between Joe Cryan (D-Union) and Christopher Connors (R-Lacey).

There are plenty of other options as well, including moving Senators around so Addiego can sit next to the senior senator from Burlington County, Troy Singleton (D-Palmyra).

The other option is to physically move Addiego’s seat to the other side of the chamber, adding a desk next to Shirley Turner (D-Lawrence).

The last time a sitting State Senator switched parties was in 2001, when eight-term Democrat Raymond Zane, dumped by Gloucester County Democrats who were backing Sweeney for the Senate, switched to the Republican Party.

Before the switch, Zane sat in the front row on the Democratic side, between Bernard Kenny (D-Hoboken) and John Adler (D-Cherry Hill).

When he became a Republican, Zane’ seat was moved to the back row on the Republican side, next to the newest GOP Senator, Kevin O’Toole (R-Cedar Grove).

New Jersey State Senate seating chart, 2019
New Jersey State Senate seating chart, 2000
New Jersey State Senate seating chart, 2000
Spread the news:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *