Home>Highlight>Environmental group sending organizers into some Assembly races

New Jersey League of Conservation Voters field organizer Dominic Brennan

Environmental group sending organizers into some Assembly races

New Jersey League of Conservation Voters will staff seven districts, including 8 and 25

By David Wildstein, October 01 2019 1:16 pm

The New Jersey League of Conservation Voters has dispatched three field organizers from their political action committee to organize ground support for their endorsed State Assembly candidates in seven legislative districts.

In two of the districts – both with one incumbent and one open seat — Democrats are putting resources into flipping four Assembly seats.

“We are fully committed to fighting for our endorsed candidates in their elections to protect and preserve New Jersey’s clean water, air, and open spaces,” said Ed Potosnak, Executive Director of New Jersey LCV PAC. “We are happy to provide on the ground organizing support, in addition to, financial support to what will be hard fought and tightly watched campaign races critical to our work to combat climate change.”

Dominic Brennan will be in the 8th district, helping Gina LaPlaca and Mark Natale win the Burlington-based seats against incumbent Ryan Peters (R-Hainesport) and former Sheriff Jean Stanfield.  He will also help incumbents Vince Mazzeo (D-Northfield) and John Armato (D-Buena) in the less competitive 2nd district.

The LCV PAC is sending Anny Martinez to the Morris County-based 25th district to boost the chances of Democrats Lisa Bhimani and Darcy Draeger unseat incumbent Anthony M. Bucco (R-Boonton) and his running mate, Denville Councilman Brian Bergen.

Martinez will also help Deana Lykins in her bid to take out incumbents Parker Space (R-Wantage) and Hal Wirths (R-Wantage) in the Sussex-based 24th.

Another organizer, Joe Hendershot, will help challengers Laura Fortgang and Christine Clarke in the Morris-based 26th district against incumbents Jay Webber (R-Morris Plains) and BettyLou DeCroce (R-Parsippany).  Hendershot is also being assigned Democratic incumbents Eric Houghtaling (D-Neptune and Joann Downey (D-Freeholder) in the 11th and Dan Benson and Wayne DeAngelo in the 14th.

Spread the news:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *