Home>Highlight>Democrats running local officials against DePhillips, Rooney in 40th

Little Falls Councilwoman Maria Martini Cordonnier

Democrats running local officials against DePhillips, Rooney in 40th

Sedon and Cordonnier will run in district that has never gone Democratic

By David Wildstein, March 07 2019 11:12 am

Democrats have picked Ridgewood councilman Michael Sedon and Little Falls councilwoman Maria Martini Cordonnier to run for the State Assembly in the 40th district against Republican incumbents Christopher DePhillips (R-Wyckoff) and Kevin Rooney (R-Wyckoff).

Republicans have won the 40th district continuously since it was created in 1973, although it only slightly resembles the line from the original northwestern Bergen County legislative district.  Democrats have not elected an assemblyman from that part of Bergen County since Robert Hamer (D-Ho-Ho-Kus) won in 1965.

Sedon was elected to the village council in 2014 and re-elected in 2018 by more than 900 votes.

Cordonnier was elected to the council in 2016 as part of a shift in Little Falls politics.  Democrats elected their first mayor in four decades and now hold a majority on the township council.

DePhillips and Rooney won a contested Republican primary two years ago, defeating former State Sen. Norman Robertson and former Wayne school board member Joseph Bubba, Jr. by a 2-1 margin.

In the general election, Rooney (31,170) and DePhillips (30,610) won by more than 4,000 votes against Democrats Christine Ordway (27,092) and Paul Vargianos (26,737).

State Sen. Kristin Cortado (R-Totowa) won her first term by an even larger margin – 7,745 votes – against Thomas Duch, a former Democratic assemblyman and Garfield mayor who moved from South Bergen to Franklin Lakes.

The 40th has 8,472 more Republicans than Democrats.

Donald Trump won the district by eight percentage points in 2016; Mitt Romney carried it by twelve points in 2012.

In 2018, the towns in the 40th went heavily for Democratic congressional candidates.

Rep. Josh Gottheimer (D-Wyckoff) won five of the seven Bergen municipalities in the 40th, with a margin of 4,219 votes.  Rep. Mikie Sherrill carried the five of the eight towns in the other three counties by a 3,267 vote margin.

The 40th includes: Allendale, Franklin Lakes, Ho-Ho-Kus, Midland Park, Ridgewood, Waldwick and Wyckoff in Bergen; Cedar Grove in Essex; Pequannock Township and Riverdale in Morris; and Little Falls, Pompton Lakes, Totowa, Wayne and Woodland Park in Passaic.

Spread the news:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *