Home>Local>Bergen>Corrado, DePhillips, Rooney win in the 40th district

Assemblyman Christopher DePhillips. (Photo: Kevin Sanders for the New Jersey Globe)

Corrado, DePhillips, Rooney win in the 40th district

By Joey Fox, November 02 2021 8:10 pm

The New Jersey Globe is projecting that State Sen. Kristin Corrado (R-Totowa), Assemblyman Christopher DePhillips (R-Wyckoff), and Assemblyman Kevin Rooney (R-Wyckoff) have won re-election to the 40th legislative district.

They defeated Ridgewood Deputy Mayor Michael Sedon, former Assistant Bergen County Prosecutor Genevieve Allard, and Waldwick Councilwoman Nicole McNamara, respectively.

Corrado, for a time the only Republican woman in the Senate, was appointed to succeed now-Port Authority Chair Kevin O’Toole in 2017 after serving a number of years as Passaic County Clerk. Rooney was appointed in 2016, and DePhillips first won in 2017; both are former mayors of Wyckoff.

The suburban district, which covers parts of four North Jersey counties, was the closest New Jersey legislative district on a presidential level in 2020. Former President Donald Trump won, but by the barest of margins: 49.40-49.37%, or 51 votes.

Final 40th district results:

Corrado 61.0% // Sedon 39.0%

Rooney 30.1%, DePhillips 29.6% // McNamara 20.3%, Allard 20.0%

Spread the news: