Home>Legislature>Carol Murphy, Herb Conaway re-elected

Assemblywoman Carol Murphy (D-Mount Laurel)

Carol Murphy, Herb Conaway re-elected

By David Wildstein, November 05 2019 8:01 pm

The New Jersey Globe is projecting that Democratic incumbents Carol Murphy and Herb Conaway have been re-elected to the New Jersey State Assembly in the 7th district.

Murphy is expected to be the top vote-getter in her successful bid for a second term.  Conaway is returning for his 12th term in the legislature.

They defeated Republican Peter Miller and Independent Kathleen Cooley.

The GOP had initially decided not to run anyone against Conaway and Murphy, who was labeled “The Bear” by the Burlington County Times after she outmaneuvered Mount Laurel Republicans in their attempt to move next year’s November partisan local election to a May non-partisan race to avoid being on the ballot with President Donald Trump.

But Miller ran unopposed off the line in the GOP primary, giving the Democrats a sudden opponent.

Republicans last won the 7th district Assembly seats in 1995.  Democrats won them back two years later when Diane Allen moved up to the Senate and remained there until her retirement in 2017.

Spread the news:
Filter by
Post Page
Highlight Legislature Governor Judiciary National
Sort by

Carol Murphy pushes for expanded 5G network in N.J.

Assemblywoman says her bill will ‘help usher our state into the 21st
June 10, 2020 11:56 am


Carol Murphy says fellow Mount Laurel resident Fabiana Pierre-Louis is a great pick for top court

Assemblywoman: ‘I’m ecstatic about this nomination’
June 5, 2020 9:40 am


Carol Murphy leaning towards Bloomberg

Assemblywoman not ready to endorse just yet
February 24, 2020 4:12 pm


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *