Home>Articles>Burzichelli, Taliaferro re-elected

Assemblyman Adam Taliaferro

Burzichelli, Taliaferro re-elected

By David Wildstein, November 05 2019 8:15 pm

The New Jersey Globe is projecting that Democratic incumbents John Burzichelli and Adam Taliaferro have been re-elected to the New Jersey State Assembly in the 3rd district.

They defeated Republicans Edward Durr and Beth Sawyer.

Burzichelli was elected in 2001 when the retirements of Jack Collins and Gary Stuhltrager after sixteen years led to Democrats flipping both 3rd district Assembly seats in a contest that also saw Steve Sweeney unseat Democrat-turned-Republican Raymond Zane after 28 years in the State Senate.

Taliaferro, a former Gloucester County Freeholder, won the seat in a 2015 special election convention after Celeste Riley was elected Cumberland County Clerk.

Durr is a commercial truck driver.  Sawyer is a member of the Woolwich Land Use Board and an successful candidate for local office in 2005.

Spread the news:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *