Home>Congress>Van Drew votes against holding Barr, Ross in Contempt of Congress

Rep. Jeff Van Drew (D-Dennis)

Van Drew votes against holding Barr, Ross in Contempt of Congress

Freshman New Jersey Democrat 1 of 4 Democrats to oppose measure

By David Wildstein, July 17 2019 8:00 pm

Rep. Jeff Van Drew (D-Dennis) was the lone New Jersey Democrat to oppose a House resolution recommending that Attorney General William Barr and Secretary of Commerce Wilbur Ross be hold in Contempt of Congress for refusing to comply with subpoenas issued by the Oversight and Reform Committee.

The measure passed 230 to 198, largely along party lines.

Van Drew was one of four Democrats to join with all 194 House Republicans in opposition to the measure.

Rep. Justin Amash (I- Michigan), who announced earlier this month that he was leaving the GOP and becoming an independent, voted with 229 Democrats.

Spread the news:
Filter by
Post Page
Articles Congress Highlight Campaigns
Sort by

Millionaire David Richter mulls self-funded challenge to Jeff Van Drew

Former Hill International CEO ran 8th largest construction company in U.S.
March 2, 2019 12:00 pm


Van Drew wins Republican nod

Former Democrat sails through Republican primary
July 7, 2020 8:06 pm


Van Drew has over $1.2 million banked for re-election bid

Democrat-turned-Repubican has raised $2.5 million this cycle
June 25, 2020 11:25 pm


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *