Home>Press Release>Rooney and DePhillips commend legislation increasing school aid

Rooney and DePhillips commend legislation increasing school aid


By NJG Press Releases, June 22 2018 2:45 pm

Kevin J. Rooney / 973-237-1362

Christopher DePhillips / 201-444-9719

Press Office / 609-847-3400

to Legislative District 40

TRENTON, N.J. – The school funding formula is being reformed to provide more aid to school

districts that have increased enrollment over the past decade, and the formula will be annually

adjusted to reflect student enrollment. Assemblymen Kevin J. Rooney and Christopher P.

DePhillips represent some of the most underfunded school districts in the state that will receive

some of the biggest benefits.

“Determining school funding on an annually adjusted base makes the formula more responsive to

real changes in the district,” said Rooney (R-Bergen). “Our district will receive $28 million more to

address growth in our K-through-twelve districts and stop excessive property tax hikes by shifting

funding from overfunded districts like Jersey City.”

The formula changes will also reapportion state aid from districts that are overfunded according to

the formula, such as Jersey City. The 19 school districts represented by Assemblymen Rooney

and DePhillips will receive a $28.3 million aid increase, which will increase school funding by 63


“This bill provides much needed relief to the towns and school children of District Forty,” said

DePhillips (R-Bergen). “For far too long, our communities have suffered due to an inequitable

school funding formula that has served the needs of a few cities to the detriment of the rest of the

state. This legislation is long overdue. It is about time that school aid is distributed in a more fair

and balanced fashion.”

The changes to the formula, constituted in A2, passed the Assembly today 54-17. The bill is

waiting for the governor’s signature to take effect.

The 40th Legislative District includes Allendale, Franklin Lakes, Ho-Ho-Kus, Midland Park,

Ridgewood, Waldwick and Wyckoff in Bergen County; Cedar Grove in Essex County; Pequannock

and Riverdale in Morris County; and Little Falls, Pompton Lakes, Totowa, Wayne and Woodland

Park in Passaic County.

Spread the news:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.