Home>Articles>Where local races stand in Middlesex County

Edison Councilman Sam Joshi. (Photo: Sam Joshi.)

Where local races stand in Middlesex County

By Joey Fox, November 08 2021 4:48 pm


Incumbent Democrats Dennis DiMascio and Ajmar Johal won re-election to the Carteret Borough Council 36-33-17-15% over Republican challengers Stephen Brown and Marjorie Momperousse.


Democratic Committeeman Michael Ferrante and fellow Democrat Eman El-Badawi won two seats on the Cranbury Township Committee with 29% and 28% of the vote, respectively; they beat Republicans Robert Bolger and Cynthia Hughes-Smithers, who each got 21%.


Democratic Councilmembers April Burke (24%) and Richard Pinder (21%) lost re-election for the Dunellen Borough Council to Republican challengers Joseph Paltjon and Teresa Albertson (both 27%); the two Democratic losses mean the council will flip from Democratic to Republican control.

East Brunswick

Councilman Dinesh Behal, a Democrat, narrowly defeated Republican David Herrera 52-48% to retain his seat on the East Brunswick Township Council.


In the race for mayor of Edison – Middlesex County’s premier local contest – Democrat Sam Joshi, an Edison councilman, beat Republican Keith Hahn by a relatively healthy 54-44% margin. Edison is solidly Democratic, but there were some concerns Joshi would be unable to unite the Democratic base after a contentious primary.

Joshi’s slate of three Democratic council candidates – Margot Harris, Nishith Patel, and John Poyner, none of them incumbents – were also victorious over their Republican challengers, winning around 19% of the vote each to the Republicans’ 15%.


Republican incumbents Michael Duffy and Peter Karczewski won re-election to the Helmetta Borough Council unopposed.

Highland Park

Democratic Councilwomen Stephany Kim Chohan and Tara Canavera were re-elected unopposed to the Highland Park Borough Council.


Republicans Brian Taylor and Shannon Spillane unseated Democratic incumbents Sandy Sussman and Peter Shaughnessy for two seats on Jamesburg Borough Council, 27-26-24-23%.


Democratic incumbent Jason Delia (32%) and fellow Democrat Joel Branch (31%) won two seats on the Metuchen Borough Council over Republicans Stephen Kitsko and Eric Lignell (18% each).

Middlesex Borough

Republican Councilmen Douglas Rex and Martin Quinn won re-election to the Middlesex Borough Council over Democratic challengers Monica Townsend and Jerry Terrones; each Republican received around 30% of the vote to the Democrats’ 20%.


The parties appear to have won one seat apiece on the Milltown Borough Council. Republican Richard Revolinsky is in first with 27.2%, followed by Democrat David Potter with 25.5%, retaining the seat of Councilman Nicholas Ligotti for his party; Republican John Collins is in third with 24.3%, and in last is incumbent Democrat Randy Farkas with 23.0%.


After an unusual general election, appointed Democratic Mayor Stephen Dalina has won re-election to a full term against Republican Steve Martin, 55-45%.

Alongside Dalina, three Democrats – At-Large Councilman Terence Van Dzura, Ward 1 Councilwoman Betty Schneider, and Ward 2 nominee Rupa Siegel – won by varying margins, Van Dzura by only four points over Republican Peter Tufano. Republican Ward 3 Councilman Charles Dipierro also won re-election 55-45% against Democrat Alton Kinsey.

North Brunswick

Incumbent Democratic Councilmen Carlo Socio, William Lopez, and Rajesh Mehta each won re-election unopposed, Mehta to the remainder of an unexpired term.

 Old Bridge

Six seats on the Old Bridge Township Council were up for election this year, three of which went to Republicans and three more which remain too close to call.

In Ward 1, Democratic Councilman Dave Merwin appears to have been narrowly unseated by Republican Kevin Garcia, 49-51%. In Ward 2, Republican incumbent Erik DePalma easily defeated Democrat Peter Shearer 60-40%. Democrat Kiran Desai appears to have held Ward 3 for his party 51-49% over Republican Enid Crespo.

Ward 4 hosted one of the closest races anywhere in the state; Republican Councilman Mark Razzoli leads Democrat Jill DeCaro by only seven votes, 50.1-49.9%. Finally, in Wards 5 and 6, Republican incumbents Tony Paskitti and John Murphy coasted to victory over their Democratic opponents, respectively winning 64-36% and 59-41%.


Councilman Linwood Rouse, a Democrat, won re-election to the Piscataway Township Council unopposed.


Democratic Committeemen Neil Lewis and Nuran Nabi were re-elected to the Plainsboro Township Committee unopposed.


Two Democratic Councilmen, Kevin Dalina and Damon Enriquez, narrowly and unexpectedly lost re-election to the Sayreville Borough Council against Republicans Eunice Dwumfour and Christian Onuoha; each Republican got around 26% of the vote to the Democrats’ 24%.

South Plainfield

Republican Councilmen Robert Bengivenga and Joseph Wolak won re-election to the South Plainfield Borough Council over sole Democratic challenger Steven Bohn, 38-37-25%.

South River

Incumbents Peter Guindi and Jason Oliveira, both Republicans, were re-elected to the South River Borough Council 30-30-20-19% over Democrats Margaret Kenny and David Pizzuto.


Five Democratic incumbents on the Woodbridge Township Council all won re-election. The closest race was in Ward 1, where Councilwoman Nancy Drumm beat Republican John Vrtaric 56-43%. Councilmembers Howie Bauer, Cory Spillar, and Debbie Meehan were each re-elected with around 60% of the vote, and Councilman Virbhadra Patel won unopposed.

Spread the news: