Home>Articles>Two Clifton incumbents lose; Anzaldi is top vote-getter in bid for 11th term

Two Clifton incumbents lose; Anzaldi is top vote-getter in bid for 11th term

By David Wildstein, November 07 2018 5:19 am

Two longtime Clifton city councilmen were defeated for re-election on Tuesday in a race of thirteen candidates for seven seats.

Steven Hatala, Jr., a councilman since 1998, and two-term councilman Joseph Kolodziej, Jr., whose father and mother held the seat since 1978, were beaten by former councilwoman Mary Sadrakula and school board vice president Rosemary Pino.

Mayor James Anzaldi was re-elected to a 11th term.  He has been on the city council since 1978 and has been mayor since 1990. He received the most votes (9,986); by tradition, the top vote-getter in the council race becomes mayor.

Councilman Peter Eagler won a 7th term. He was first elected in 1990 and served until 2002, when he won a State Assembly seat.  He returned to the council in 2006. He finished 6th in his 2014 re-election bid.

Bill Gibson and Lauren Murphy both won second terms. Raymond Grabowski won a 2015 special election following the death of his brother, Matthew, and won his first full-term.  Murphy won by just 147 votes four years ago.

Former councilman Frank Fusco lost his bid to return to the council.  Fusco, a Republican who lost a State Senate race to Nia Gill in 2003 and a freeholder bid in 2011, was defeated for re-election to his council seat eight years ago

Sadrakula lost her seat in 2014 but finished 529 votes ahead of Kolodziej.

Malvin Frias-Asencio, Steven Goldberg, and George Silva also lost their council bids.

Goldberg ran four years ago and finished 10th out of 15 candidates, 841 votes behind Murphy.

Anzaldi ran for higher office in 1989 as the Republican candidate for Passaic County Clerk.  He lost to incumbent William Kattak.

Eagler was first elected in 1990, at age 36, and in 1996 won a seat on the Passaic County Board of Freeholders.  He was elected assemblyman in 2001, when the 34th district was redrawn to include parts of Essex County.  He defeated nine-term Republican Assemblyman Gerald Zecker, a former Clifton mayor, by a margin of nearly 2-1 after the district added Democratic strongholds of East Orange and Montclair.

He remained on the ticket in 2003 when Democrats dropped incumbent Willis Edwards and replaced him on the ticket with Essex County Freeholder Sheila Oliver.  In 2005, Democrats replaced Eagler when Essex decided to take the second Assembly seat and give it to Thomas Giblin.

Kolodziej comes from local political royalty.  His father was elected in 1978 and died in office two years later.  His mother, Gloria Kolodziej, won a special election to replace him in 1981 and became mayor in 1982.  She nearly won an Assembly seat in 1987; angry that Democrats didn’t consider her for Bob Roe’s open House seat in 1992, she ran as in independent against another Clifton Democrat who won the seat, Herbert Klein.   She was mayor for eight years and a councilwoman until 2010, when she retired and backed her son as her successor.

Spread the news:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *