Home>Campaigns>Sayegh wins second term against fractured field in Paterson

Paterson Mayor André Sayegh. (Photo: André Sayegh for Mayor).

Sayegh wins second term against fractured field in Paterson

Davila, Mimms appear to win re-election to at-large council seats

By Joey Fox, May 10 2022 11:25 pm

The New Jersey Globe projects that Paterson Mayor André Sayegh has won re-election to a second term, beating Councilman Alex Mendez and three other candidates for the chance to lead New Jersey’s third-largest city.


The contest between Sayegh and Mendez was a repeat of the 2018 mayoral contest, when Sayegh won with 41% of the vote and Mendez finished in second with 22%; Jackson also ran that year, but got only 5%.

Though Paterson politics are always chaotic enough to keep observers guessing, Sayegh was seen as the favorite heading into this year’s election, with endorsements from many key Democratic players like Gov. Phil Murphy and Rep. Bill Pascrell (D-Paterson), a former Paterson mayor himself.

Sayegh’s victory four years ago represented a significant change for the majority-Hispanic city, which had never before elected a mayor from its significant Arab American community. A former member of the city council, Sayegh had also run for mayor in 2010 and 2014, losing to Jeffery Jones and Joey Torres, respectively.

Both Jones and Torres signaled they would run again for mayor this year, but neither campaign ended up coming to pass. Jones seemingly dropped the idea of running again without much fanfare, while Torres was prevented from reaching the ballot by a judge who said his past criminal conviction barred him from running for office again.

Spread the news: