Home>Local>Passaic incumbents win easily

Assemblyman Gary Schaer. (Photo by Kevin Sanders for the New Jersey Globe).

Passaic incumbents win easily

Gary Schaer re-elected to 7th term on city council

By David Wildstein, May 15 2019 12:49 am

Four incumbents coasted to re-election in the city of Passaic in Tuesday’s non-partisan municipal election.

Thania Melo was the top vote-getter with 2,012 votes, followed by Salim Patel (1,954), Gary Schaer (1,942) and Chaim Munk (1,923).

They defeated perennial candidate Diomedes Minaya, who received 500 votes.

Melo was first elected to the council to fill an unexpired term in 2013.  Patel won November 2018 special election to replace the late Zaida Polanco.  Melo and Patel are both former school board members.

Schaer, the council president, has served as a councilman since 1995 and as an assemblyman since 2003.  Munk was also first elected in 1995.

Minaya was making his eighth bid for public office.

Spread the news:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.