Home>Local>Ocean County’s gender scorecard

Ocean County Freeholder Virginia Haines

Ocean County’s gender scorecard

By David Wildstein, February 19 2019 12:53 am

A short primer on  the status of women in Ocean County.

Ocean County has sent just six women to the New Jersey Legislature since women gained the right to vote in 1920:

* Lila Thompson (R-New Egypt) served from 1924 to 1926.

* Lettie Savage (R-Lakewood) served from 1941 to 1960.

* Hazel Gluck (R-Lakewood) served from 1980 to 1982.

* Marlene Lynch Ford (D-Point Pleasant) served from 1984 to 1986, and again from 1990 to 1992.

* Virginia Haines (R-Toms River) served from 1992 to 1994.

* DiAnne Gove (R-Long Beach) has served since 2009.

Ocean has elected only two women to the Board of Chosen Freeholder since 1850:

* Hazel Gluck served from 1977 to 1980.

* Virginia Haines has served since 2016.

A woman has never held one of the three county constitutional officers: county clerk, surrogate and sheriff.  Lynch Ford is the only women to serve as a prosecutor.

No women have represented Ocean County in the State Senate.

Republicans had a Hispanic assemblyman from 1982 to 1986; Jorge Rod switched parties after the Ocean GOP decided not to support him for a third term.

No black, man or woman, has ever held county or state office in Ocean County.

Spread the news:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.