Home>Articles>Coghlan-Walsh, Reynolds, Perron win in Ridgewood

Ridgewood Councilwoman Bernadette Coughlan Walsh.

Coghlan-Walsh, Reynolds, Perron win in Ridgewood

Hyunji Kwak defeats appointed school board member for last year of unexpired term

By Nikita Biryukov, May 12 2020 9:59 pm

Ridgewood Councilwoman Bernadette Coghlan-Walsh was re-elected Tuesday night, running ahead of four other council candidates to become the race’s top vote-getter.

Coghlan-Walsh received 2,831 votes, almost 400 more than Lorraine Reynolds’ 2,440.

Reynolds and Pamela Perron, another political newcomer, won the council’s two open seats.

Perron’s win was a narrow one. She defeated Sergio Alegre 2,119-2003.

Mahmoud Hamza finished last with 1,654.

Michael Lembo and Saurabh Dani won full terms on the village’s school board, earning 3,045 and 2,303 votes respectively.

Dan Creed received 1,854 votes.

Hyunji Kwak ousted appointed School Board Member Muhammad Mahmour, defeating the incumbent 2,170-1,543, to win the last year of an unexpired term.

Spread the news: