Home>Articles>Cape May Republicans hold three countywide offices

Cape May County Freeholder Marie Hayes. Photo by Nikita Biryukov for the New Jersey Globe.

Cape May Republicans hold three countywide offices

Only one Democrat filed to run

By Joey Fox, November 08 2022 10:31 pm

The New Jersey Globe projects that Republicans have swept three countywide races in Cape May County, meaning that Jeff Van Drew, now a GOP congressman, remains the last Democrat to win a countywide election in New Jersey’s southernmost county.

Voters re-elected Republican E. Marie Hayes, a county commissioner since 2013, for the fourth time, along with her running mate, Andy Bulakowski, a senior representative of the Eastern Atlantic States Regional Council of Carpenters.

As of 10:30 p.m. and with 100% of precincts reporting, Hayes and Bulakowski (both 38%) defeated their lone Democratic opponent, Julia Hankerson (21%).

Bulakowski will replace Gerald Thornton, who is stepping down after 39 years in county government. Thornton was first elected to the Cape May Board of Freeholders in 1975 and served twelve years before making an unsuccessful run for the State Assembly. He returned in 1995 and was re-elected eight times.

Republican Dean Marcolongo, meanwhile, was unopposed in his bid for re-election as the Cape May County Surrogate.

Democrats have not won a countywide election in Cape May since Van Drew won a freeholder seat in 2000.

Editor’s note: actual election results will change between now and the certification of this election after provisional and late arriving vote-by-mail ballots are counted.

Spread the news: