Home>Campaigns>Monmouth Republicans win re-election to three countywide offices

Monmouth County Freeholder Tom Arnone

Monmouth Republicans win re-election to three countywide offices

Golden, Arnone, and DiRocco all set to return

By Joey Fox and David Wildstein, November 08 2022 9:45 pm

The New Jersey Globe projects that Republicans incumbents have won in Monmouth County, with Sheriff Shaun Golden and County Commissioners Tom Arnone and Nick DiRocco set to return to office in January.

As of 9:44 p.m., Golden, who is also the Monmouth County GOP chairman, leads Democrat Larry Luttrell by a 57%-40% margin.

Arnone (30%) and DiRocco (29%) lead Democrats Kristal Dias and Bonnie Kass-Viola (both 21%).

Golden became sheriff in 2010 after Kim Guadagno resigned to become lieutenant governor.  He must decide if he’ll seek a sixth term in 2025 or give up that post to seek the Republican nomination for governor.

Luttrell won the Democratic primary in June as a write-in candidate after his party failed to put a candidate on the ballot.  Their original candidate, former Bridgewater Police Chief Manuel Caravela, out of the race after failing to meet the statutory residency requirement of three years.

A former Neptune City mayor, Arnone was elected in 2010, defeating the last Democratic freeholder John D’Amico, by 37,243 votes.  DiRocco, a former Wall councilman and deputy chief of staff to Gov. Chris Christie, was re-elected to his second term.

Editor’s note: actual election results will change between now and the certification of this election after provisional and late arriving vote-by-mail ballots are counted.

Spread the news: