Home>Campaigns>Scutari, Carter, Kennedy win in the 22nd district

Assemblywoman Linda S. Carter. (Photo: Kevin Sanders for the New Jersey Globe).

Scutari, Carter, Kennedy win in the 22nd district

By Joey Fox, November 02 2021 8:01 pm

The New Jersey Globe is projecting that State Sen. Nicholas Scutari (D-Linden), Assemblywoman Linda Carter (D-Plainfield), and Assemblyman James Kennedy (D-Rahway) have won re-election to the 22nd legislative district.

Plainfield GOP municipal chairman William Michelson ran and lost for the Senate, while Hans Herberg and David Sypher were the Republican candidates for the Assembly.

Scutari, who is also Judiciary Committee Chairman and the chair of the Union County Democratic Party, has been in office since 2004. Kennedy joined the Assembly in 2016, succeeding Assemblywoman Linda Stender (D-Fanwood), and Carter arrived in 2018 after the death of Assemblyman Jerry Green (D-Plainfield).

Final 22nd district results:

Scutari 61.5% // Michelson 38.5%

Carter 31.3%, Kennedy 30.6% // Sypher 19.2%, Herberg 18.9%

Spread the news: