Home>Campaigns>Cryan, Quijano, Atkins win in the 20th district

State Sen. Joseph Cryan. (Photo: Kevin Sanders for the New Jersey Globe).

Cryan, Quijano, Atkins win in the 20th district

By Joey Fox, November 02 2021 8:01 pm

The New Jersey Globe is projecting that Democratic State Sen. Joseph Cryan (D-Union) and Assemblywoman Annette Quijano (D-Elizabeth) have been re-elected to the 20th legislative district, and that Roselle Democratic chairman Reginald Atkins has been elected to his first term in the Assembly.

None of the three Democrats faced any Republican opponents.

The district was home to an unusual primary in June, when anti-vaccine Assemblyman Jamel Holley (D-Roselle) challenged Cryan for the Senate. Holley lost 62-34%, and his Assembly slate running against Quijano and Atkins were similarly unsuccessful.

Cryan was first elected to the Senate in 2017, succeeding fellow Democrat Raymond Lesniak (D-Elizabeth); he had previously served in the Assembly from 2002 to 2015, including a two-year stint as Assembly Majority Leader.

Quijano joined the Assembly in 2008, becoming the first Hispanic legislator to represent the 20th district, which includes overwhelmingly Hispanic Elizabeth. Atkins, a reverend and former Roselle interim mayor, was given the Union County party line this past year to succeed Holley when Holley launched his campaign for Senate.

Final 20th district results:

Cryan 100%

Quijano 50.8%, Atkins 49.2%

Spread the news: