Home>Campaigns>Pennacchio, Barranco, Webber win in the 26th district

State Sen. Joe Pennacchio. (Photo by Kevin Sanders for New Jersey Globe).

Pennacchio, Barranco, Webber win in the 26th district

By Joey Fox, November 02 2021 8:10 pm

The New Jersey Globe is projecting that State Sen. Joe Pennacchio (R-Montville) and Assemblyman Jay Webber (R-Morris Plains) have won re-election to the 26th legislative district, and that Republican Christian Barranco has won his first term in the legislature.

The trio defeated environmental activist Christine Clarke, ​​businesswoman Melissa Brown Blaeuer, and teacher and NJEA consultant Pamela Fadden, respectively.

Barranco will succeed Assemblywoman BettyLou DeCroce (R-Parsippany), the widow of former Assembly Minority Leader Alex DeCroce who unexpectedly lost the support of the Morris County GOP in March. DeCroce kept campaigning anyway with Pennacchio’s support, but Barranco narrowly beat her in the primary.

Pennacchio was one of the three candidates running to succeed Senate Minority Leader Tom Kean, Jr. (R-Westfield) as the top Republican in the legislature, but he appears to have been bested by State Sen. Steven Oroho (R-Franklin) from the neighboring 24th district.

Final 26th district results:

Pennacchio 58.9% // Clarke 41.1%

Webber 30.0%, Barranco 29.3% // Fadden 20.4%, Blaeuer 20.3%

Spread the news: