Home>Campaigns>Gill, Giblin, Timberlake win in the 34th district

State Sen. Nia Gill (D-Montclair). (Photo: Kevin Sanders for New Jersey Globe)

Gill, Giblin, Timberlake win in the 34th district

By Joey Fox, November 02 2021 8:03 pm

The New Jersey Globe is projecting that State Sen. Nia Gill (D-Montclair), Assemblyman Thomas Giblin (D-Montclair), and Assemblywoman Britnee Timberlake (D-East Orange) have won re-election to the 34th legislative district.

They defeated Republicans Scott Pollock, Tafari Anderson, and Irene DeVita, as well as independent Rev. Clenard H. Childress, Jr. on his ninth run for the Assembly.

The Essex County-based district was Republican-held until 2001, when redistricting scrambled its boundaries and made it safely Democratic. That year, Gill flipped the district’s Senate seat by 30 points, and has held it easily since.

Giblin, active in Essex County politics since the 1970s, was elected to the Assembly in 2005; Timberlake was elected in 2017 to succeed now-Lieutenant Governor Sheila Oliver, and has developed a reputation as a progressive rising star.

Spread the news: