Home>Campaigns>Codey, Jasey, McKeon win in the 27th district

Former Gov. Richard J. Codey, a state senator from Essex County. (Photo: Kevin Sanders for New Jersey Globe)

Codey, Jasey, McKeon win in the 27th district

By Joey Fox, November 02 2021 8:01 pm

The New Jersey Globe is projecting that State Sen. and former Gov. Richard Codey (D-Roseland), Assemblywoman Mila Jasey (D-South Orange), and Assemblyman John McKeon (D-West Orange) have won re-election to the 27th legislative district.

Codey defeated former Republican Essex County freeholder candidate Adam Kraemer, while Jasey and McKeon beat Kevin Ryan and Jonathan Sym.

Codey, holding a seat in the legislature since 1974, is one of the country’s longest-serving elected officials. The onetime Senate President also famously held the governorship from late 2004 to early 2006, after former Gov. Jim McGreevey resigned in a chaotic period that eventually led to the creation of the lieutenant governor position.

McKeon was elected in 2001 and Jasey appointed in 2007 to the suburban Newark seat; their combined tenure of 34 years still pales in comparison to Codey’s 48.

Final 27th district results:

Codey 64.9% // Kraemer 35.1%

McKeon 31.6%, Jasey 30.9% // Ryan 18.9%, Sym 18.5%

Spread the news: