Home>Articles>Assembly budget committee gets three new members

Assembly Budget Committee Chair Eliana Pintor Marin (D-Newark). (Photo: Kevin Sanders for New Jersey Globe)

Assembly budget committee gets three new members

Hudson will have no seats on lower house budget panel

By David Wildstein, January 17 2020 12:36 pm

The powerful Assembly Budget Committee has three new members.

William Spearman (D-Camden) will take the seat of his former running mate, Patricia Egan Jones (D-Barrington).  Jones did not seek re-election last year.

Ralph Caputo (D-Nutley) replaces John McKeon (D-West Orange).  Verlina Reynolds-Jackson (D-Trenton) takes the seat of Raj Mukherji (D-Jersey City), who instead assumes a key post as chairman of the Assembly Judiciary Committee.

Mukherji’s departure from the committee leaves Hudson County without a seat on the Assembly Budget Committee.  Another Hudson County legislator, State Sen. Sandra Cunningham (D-Jersey City), is vice chair of the Senate Budget and Appropriations Committee.

Eliana Pintor Marin (D-Newark) will begin her third year as chair.

Remaining on the committee: John Burzichelli (D-Paulsboro), Dan Benson (D-Hamilton), Gordon Johnson (D-Englewood), Carol Murphy (D-Mount Laurel) and Benjie Wimberly (D-Paterson).

Spread the news:
Filter by
Post Page
Highlight Bergen In Memoriam Legislature Local Ocean
Sort by

Michael Ferrara, former assemblyman, dies at 96

After redistricting put three incumbents in one district, Ferrara traded Assembly seat to
March 3, 2019 5:00 pm


D’Arcy Rohan Green drops Assembly bid

Endorses John Catalano to succeed David Wolfe in 10th district
February 20, 2019 4:59 pm


John Catalano now favorite for David Wolfe Assembly seat

Brick GOP Club president wins endorsement of Ocean GOP screening committee
February 17, 2019 8:47 am


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *