Home>Congress>Pelosi gets 9 votes from New Jersey, including Kim

Nancy Pelosi

Pelosi gets 9 votes from New Jersey, including Kim

Sherrill backs Bustos for Speaker; Van Drew votes “no”

By David Wildstein, January 03 2019 1:53 pm

The new Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives, Nancy Pelosi, received nine votes from the New Jersey delegation.

The only real surprise was Rep. Andy Kim (D-Marlton), who broke a campaign pledge in his first vote as a Member of Conrgess and voted for Pelosi.

Two other freshmen Democrats, Rep. Mikie Sherrill (D-Montclair) and Jefferson Van Drew (D-Dennis), did not support Pelosi.  Sherrill voted for Rep. Cheri Bustos (D-Illinois), while Van Drew voted “no.”  Since “no” was not a candidate for speaker, his first vote was recorded as “present.”

Reps. Josh Gottheimer (D-Wyckoff), Donald Norcross (D-Camden), Frank Pallone (D-Long Branch), Bill Pascrell, Jr. (D-Paterson), Donald Payne, Jr. (D-Newark), Albio Sires (D-West New York), and Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-Ewing) voted for Pelosi.  All eight had previously indicated their intention to do so.

Rep. Christopher Smith (R-Hamilton), the only Republican in New Jersey’s congressional delegation, voted for Kevin McCarthy for Speaker.  McCarthy will be the House Minority Leader.

Spread the news:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.