Home>AAA Right>Most New Jersey House Dems oppose Trump impeachment resolution

President Donald Trump

Most New Jersey House Dems oppose Trump impeachment resolution

Democratic delegation supports condemning Trump for ‘racist’ remarks

By David Wildstein, July 18 2019 9:41 am

A resolution to impeach President Donald Trump was crushed in the U.S. House of Representatives last night, with six of the eleven members of the New Jersey delegation voting to table the measure.

Reps. Jeff Van Drew (D-Dennis), Andy Kim (D-Marlton), Josh Gottheimer (D-Wyckoff), Tom Malinowski (D-Rocky Hill), Albio Sires (D-West New York) and Mikie Sherrill (D-Montclair) voted to table the move to impeach Trump.

So did Rep. Christopher Smith (R-Hamilton), the only Republican representing New Jersey in Congress.

Five Democrats voted against tabling the resolution: Donald Norcross (D-Camden), Frank Pallone (D-Long Branch), Bill Pascrell (D-Paterson), Donald Payne (D-Newark) and Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-Ewing).

The move to impeach Trump came in response to the president’s attacks on four Democratic congresswomen.

The resolution condemned Trump as a racist, saying he brought “ridicule, disgrace and disrepute” to the presidency.

The vote was 332-95, with 137 Democrats joining 194 Republicans and one Democrat voting yes to end the discussion, and 95 Democrats voting no on the motion to table.

A resolution condemning Trump for what some House members said were “racist” comment passed 240-187, in a vote largely along party lines.

All New Jersey Democrats voted yes, while Smith voted against the resolution.

Spread the news:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.