Home>Articles>Tedesco, Bergen Democrats hold countywide offices

Bergen County Executive James Tedesco. (Photo: County of Bergen).

Tedesco, Bergen Democrats hold countywide offices

Republicans fall short of breaking Democratic control in N.J.’s most populous county

By Joey Fox and David Wildstein, November 08 2022 11:53 pm

The New Jersey Globe projects that Bergen County Executive James Tedesco has been re-elected to a third term, leading Republican Todd Caliguire by a 55%-45% margin as of 11:52 p.m. Three Democratic commissioners also won re-election over their Republican opponents, defending the party’s 7-0 majority.

The three Democratic incumbents, Mary Amoroso (18.0%), Thomas Sullivan (17.9%), and Germaine Ortiz (17.6%), defeated Republicans Douglas Holden (15.6%), Ronald Lin (15.5%), and Dierdre Paul (15.4%).

If Republicans had captured two of the seats, the 2023 race for county commissioner would have been a control election, but instead Democrats retained their complete stranglehold on county government.

Bergen County Republicans haven’t won any countywide offices in Bergen since 2013, and Caliguire is a perennial office-seeker who hasn’t won an election since 1995 and has lost two State Senate bids and a 2006 race for county executive.

Sullivan is the president of the IBEW Local 164 and a former councilman in Bergenfield and Montvale. Amoroso, a former Bergen Record reporter and editor, was elected councilwoman in Mahwah in 2015 and freeholder in 2016.  Ortiz, a former Palisades Park councilwoman and school board member, was also elected in 2016; Amoroso and Ortiz flipped two Republican seats.

Lin, a Franklin Lakes resident, lost county commissioner race last year by 12,881; Paul is an educator and community leader from Englewood and has lot races for State Assembly in 2013 and Congress against Rep. Bill Pascrell, Jr. (D-Paterson) in 2014.

Tedesco becomes the first three-term county executive since Republican Pat Schuber defeated Democratic Assemblywoman Loretta Weinberg in 1998.  The former Paramus mayor is the first Democrat to score a third term.

Spread the news: