Home>Articles>Suleiman seeks re-election in Atlantic
Atlantic County Democratic Chairman Michael Suleiman
Atlantic County Democratic Chairman Michael Suleiman

Suleiman seeks re-election in Atlantic

By David Wildstein, March 14 2018 9:27 am

Editor’s Note: This story has been updated to include additional endorsements received by Suleiman.

Atlantic County Democratic Chairman Michael Suleiman says he will seek re-election to his party post in June will run with the backing of most of the county’s Democratic elected officials.

Democratic municipal chairs in Absecon, Brigantine, Buena Vista Township, Egg Harbor City, Egg Harbor Township, Galloway, Hamilton, Hammonton, Margate, Mullica, Northfield and Pleasantville have endorsed Suleiman.

So have: County Clerk Ed McGettigan; Freeholders Ashley Bennett, Ernest Course and Caren Fitzpatrick; Mayors John Armstrong of Absecon, Chuck Chiarello of Buena Vista Township and Lisa Jiampetti of Egg Harbor City; Atlantic City Councilmen Kaleem Shabazz and George Tibbitt; Atlantic County Democratic Vice Chair Mary Slomine; and a large group of councilmembers and other prominent Democrats.

Suleiman points to several accomplishments as county chair: large increases in committee membership, fundraising, and nominating convention attendance; renewed efforts at local party-building, which has led to the rejuvenation of the Democratic Party in towns like Northfield, Linwood, and Absecon; and aggressive candidate recruitment efforts which have produced quality, first-time candidates that contribute to the growth of the party.

The Full list of Suleiman endorsements below:

Municipal Chairs
John Armstrong, Absecon
Audrey Miles, Brigantine
Quentin McClendon, Buena Vista Twp.
Stefania Kuehner, Egg Harbor City (candidate)
Kim Steinen, Egg Harbor Twp.
Doug Browne, Galloway Township
Bob Campbell, Hamilton Township
Nick Polito, Hammonton
Mary Slomine, Margate
Leanna Mullen, Mullica Township
Eileen Toland, Northfield
Irma Curry, Pleasantville
Millie Messina, Weymouth Township

Elected Officials
Atlantic County Clerk Ed McGettigan
Atlantic County Freeholder Ernest Coursey
Atlantic County Freeholder Caren Fitzpatrick
Atlantic County Freeholder Ashley Bennett
Absecon Mayor John Armstrong
Absecon Councilman Steve Light
Atlantic City Councilman Kaleem Shabazz
Atlantic City Councilman George Tibbitt
Buena Vista Twp. Mayor Chuck Chiarello
Buena Vista Twp. Deputy Mayor Teresa Kelly
Buena Vista Twp. Committeeman Steve Martinelli
Buena Vista Twp. Committeeman John Williams
Buena Vista Twp. Committeeman David Turner
Egg Harbor City Mayor Lisa Jiampetti
Galloway Councilwoman Mary Crawford
Galloway Councilman Jim Gorman
Galloway Councilman Frank Santo
Hamilton Township Committeewoman Judy Link
Hamilton Township Committeeman Rodney Guishard
Longport Mayor Nick Russo
Northfield Councilman Frank Perri
Pleasantville Councilwoman Judy Ward
Pleasantville Councilman Ricky Cistrunk
Somers Point Councilman Carl D’Adamo

Other Party Officials, Members of County Committee, Community Leaders
Kathy Whelan, widow of the late Senator Jim Whelan
Mary Slomine, ACDC Vice Chair
Sherry Elder, ACDC Secretary
Steve Dicht, ACDC Treasurer
Wick Ward, ACDC Assistant Secretary
Steve Young, ACDC Sergeant-at-Arms
Former County Chairman Ron Ruff
Michael Bibb, Egg Harbor Twp. Democratic Club President
Art Slomine, Margate Democratic Club President
Farook Hossain, ASAAL Atlantic City Chapter President
John Devlin, Atlantic City
Durwood Pinkett, Atlantic City
Emily McGrath, Egg Harbor Township
Solaiman Serneabad, Egg Harbor Township
Nargis Serneabad, Egg Harbor Township
Justin Abate, Margate
John Mooney, Galloway
Mary Ann Kozack, Brigantine
Beth Schroeder Buonsante, Mullica Twp.
Anthony Morgano, Ventnor Democratic Club President
Robert Polillo, Brigantine
Margie Allen, Egg Harbor Township
Creed Pogue, Estell Manor
Paul Utts, Northfield
Sandra Russo, Northfield
Sandy Couch, Pleasantville
Melissa Rosenblum Pisetzner, Linwood
Don “Butch” Burroughs, Absecon
Vivian Lockett, Pleasantville
Maxine Christmas, Pleasantville
David “Doc” Livingston, Ventnor
Bobby Donovan, Ventnor
Stephenine Dixon, Galloway Township

Spread the news:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *