Home>Articles>Where local races stand in Camden County

Camden City Councilman Vic Carstarphen. (Photo: Vic Carstarphen.)

Where local races stand in Camden County

By Joey Fox, November 03 2021 5:00 pm

Audubon Park

Democrats Cathleen Lowe and Amy Partatore have won seats on the Audubon Park Borough Council, each receiving 42% of the vote and handily defeating incumbent Councilwoman Kirsten Stokes, who ran as an independent and got only 12% of the vote.


Democratic Barrington Councilmen Michael Drumm and Shawn Ludwig are leading in their re-election bids against Republicans Kenneth Krupinski and Nicholas Alvini, 29-27-22-21%.


Incumbent Democrats Steven Hagerty and Craig Wilhelm won re-election to the Bellmawr Borough Council unopposed.

Berlin Borough

In a nonpartisan race for Berlin Borough Council, Councilmembers Jake Miller and Patricia Cummings have both been re-elected unopposed.

Berlin Township

Three Democratic incumbents – Mayor Phyllis Magazzu, Councilman Frank Epifanio, and Councilman Mark Reid – have all won unopposed in Berlin Township.


Councilwomen Julie McCleary and Patricia McConnell, both Democrats, won re-election to the Brooklawn Borough Council with no opponents.


Facing only independent opponents, Camden Mayor Victor Carstarphen won election to a full mayoral term with more than 90% of the vote; Carstarphen, a former councilman and basketball star, replaced Mayor Frank Moran when Moran resigned in April.

A number of Democratic incumbents, among them Sheila Davis, Angel Fuentes, and Christopher Collins, won new terms on the Camden City Council, as did fellow Democrat Nohemi Soria-Perez.

Cherry Hill

Four Cherry Hill councilmembers, all of them Democrats, won re-election against four Republican foes. David Fleisher, Carole Roskoph, Sangeeta Doshi, and William Carter each received around 15% of the vote; their Republican opponents, Nicole Nance, Diane Carr, David Lodge, and Rossana Parsons, trailed with about 9% each.


Incumbent Councilwomen Pearlie Lee and Cathleen Jordan, both Democrats, won re-election to the Chesilhurst Borough Council unopposed.


Councilman Robert Dorsey and fellow Democrat David Cornwell have won terms on the Clementon Borough Council, each receiving around 28% of the vote; they defeated Republicans Lynn Lofland and William Weyland, who got 23% and 20%, respectively.


Gibbsboro Councilmen Michael MacFerren and Glenn Werner have won re-election unopposed in a nonpartisan contest.

Gloucester City

Democratic Gloucester City Councilman Gayl Baile has won the contest for mayor unopposed, and fellow Democrat Robert Page has won his council seat with 56% of the vote. Councilmembers George Berglund, James Johnson, and Nancy Baus were all also re-elected with no opponents.

Gloucester Township

Gloucester Township Mayor David Mayer, Councilwoman Michelle Winters, Councilwoman Carolyn Grace, and Councilman Dan Hutchison – all Democrats – appear to have been re-elected, though none by dominant margins.

Mayer got 48% of the vote, with 38% going to Republican Joseph Damico and another 14% to independent Samuel Sweet. The three council Democrats each got around 16%, while a slate of Republican opponents got around 13% each and three independents got 3% each.

Haddon Heights

Councilman Christopher Morgan and fellow Democrat Kathryn Russo were elected to the Haddon Heights Borough Council, each with around 30% of the vote; their Republican opponents, Kimberly Stuart and Kevin Ehret, trailed with 20% each.

Laurel Springs

Laurel Springs Councilman James Redstreake, a Republican, and Councilwoman Susan DiGregorio, a Democrat, were both re-elected unopposed alongside one another.


Democratic Councilmembers Ronald DeAbreu and Dawn Wright-McLeod have won re-election unopposed to the Lawnside Borough Council.


Councilwoman Cheryle Randolph-Sharpe, alongside fellow Democrats Walter Lenkowski and Odessa Patton, has won re-election to the Lindenwold Borough Council with no opponents.


Incumbents Richard Krause and Shawn Parker, both Democrats, have been re-elected to the Magnolia Borough Council with no opposition.


Councilman Daniel Sperrazza and fellow Democrat Cindy Morales-Butts have won seats on the Merchantville Borough Council, each receiving around 41% of the vote to independent candidate Adam Wallace’s 16%.


Democratic Oaklyn Councilmembers Nancy MacGregor and Chris Walters were re-elected with 41% and 38% of the vote, defeating Republican candidate Dominic Longo, who got 20%.


Democratic incumbents Nikki Roberts, Patrick Olivo, Jessica Rafeh, and Marco DiBattista have all been re-elected to the Pennsauken Township Committee; none faced any opponents whatsoever. 

Pine Hill

Democratic Pine Hill Councilmen John Robb and Thomas Knott have won re-election with no opposition.


Incumbent Councilmembers Eleanor Kelly and Craig Laubenstein, both Democrats, have been re-elected to the Runnemede Borough Council unopposed.


Democratic Somerdale Councilmen George Ehrmann and George Badey have both been re-elected without any opponents.


Stratford Councilmen Stephen Gandy and James Kelly, both Democrats, lead in their bids for re-election against Republican candidates Stephen Gagliardi and Leonard Nester. Kelly leads with 27.4%, followed by Gandy with 26.3%; Gagliardi is in third with 24.0%, and Nester is in last at 22.2%.


Democratic Voorhees Councilmembers Michelle Nocito and Jason Ravitz have won re-election without opposition.


Independent Waterford Councilman Andrew Wade, who also serves as the township’s mayor, currently leads Republican Joel Thompson 52-47%, a likely insurmountable margin of 154 votes.


In Winslow Township’s 1st ward, Democratic Councilman Robert Stimelski appears to have lost to Republican challenger Brandon Glikas, 45-54%. Stimelski’s Democratic running mates were luckier: Councilmen Carlos Vascos and John Wilson were re-elected unopposed, and Councilman Raymond Watkins beat his opponent with 87% of the vote.


Councilmembers Sharon Earley and Wilfredo Rodriguez, both Democrats, have been re-elected unopposed to the Woodlynne Borough Council.

Spread the news: