Home>Legislature>Ocean GOP backs incumbents

Assemblywoman DiAnne Gove (R-Long Beach)

Ocean GOP backs incumbents

Legislators, freeholders gain party support for re-election

By David Wildstein, February 17 2019 9:52 am

The Ocean County Republican Organization screening committee voted unanimously on Saturday to renominate incumbents for state and county offices.

For the eight State Assembly seats that include part of Ocean County, the GOP screening committee is backing DiAnne Gove (R-Long Beach) and Brian Rumpf (R-Little Egg Harbor) in the 9th district, Gregory McGuckin (R-Toms River) in the 10th, Ronald Dancer (R-Plumsted) and Rob Clifton (R-Matawan) in the 12th, and Sean Kean (R-Wall) and Ned Thomson (R-Wall) in the 30th.

The screening committee also endorsed Brick Republican Club president John Catalano for State Assembly in the 10th, where David Wolfe (R-Brick) is retiring after 28 years in the Legislature.

Ocean County freeholders Virginia Haines and Jack Kelly were endorsed for re-election, along with Sheriff Michael Mastronardy.

Ocean is still a stronghold for New Jersey Republicans; Democrats have not won a countywide race since 1989.

Spread the news:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *