Home>Articles>Incumbents win in Oceanport

Left to right: Joe Irace, Robert Proto and Steven Solon

Incumbents win in Oceanport

Mayor will seek re-election as independent

By Nikita Biryukov, June 05 2019 12:55 am

Oceanport Council President Stephen Solan and Councilman Joseph Irace won the Republican primary Tuesday.

They defeated challengers Keith Salnick and Michael DePonte.

With 187 votes, Irace was the race’s top vote-getter.

Solan had 172 ballots cast in his name.

Deponte finished third with 150 votes, while Salnick got just 77.

Democrats are not running candidates in Oceanport.

Democrat Jay Coffey, who was elected mayor of Oceanport as a write-in candidate in 2015 in a stunning upset against a two-term Republican incumbent, filed on Tuesday to run for re-election as an independent.

He will face Republican Robert Proto.

Spread the news:
Filter by
Post Page
Highlight Local Hudson Legislature
Sort by

Bhalla calls on council incumbents to sign pledge not to hire workers on election day

Mayor says pledge will prevent electoral fraud in Hoboken
September 18, 2019 9:54 am


NJEA sides with GOP incumbents in key Assembly races

No endorsements for South Jersey Democrats
August 29, 2019 2:56 pm


LD39 Dems hit incumbents on school funding absention

Schepisi says she didn’t want to pit district’s towns against each
August 6, 2019 3:16 pm


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *