Home>Articles>Here’s who’s filed for local office

Here’s who’s filed for local office

By Nikita Biryukov, April 05 2021 4:42 pm

It’s filing day in New Jersey, and candidates up and down the ballot must get their petitions in today or be left to wait until next year.

Here’s who’s filing for local office.


Ward 2 Councilwoman Lisa Allen has filed for re-election, as has her running mate, Ward 2 Council candidate David Fosgate, a benefits consultant for the Sequoia Consulting Group.

Allen is running for the remaining year of former Councilman Steve Bowman’s unexpired term. Bowman resigned in February ahead of a planned move to Dallas.

He was the only elected Republican in Summit.

“Let’s bring Summit together with a diversity of voices committed to debating, deciding, and delivering on the best ideas for our community’s future,” Summit GOP Chairman Steve Spurr said.

Chatham Township

Kathy Abbott, a development associate at the Summit Speech School, will seek Mayor Tracy Ness’s seat on the Township Committee with the incumbent’s endorsement.

Ness is not seeking re-election to a second term. Abbott sought a seat on the Township Committee in 2015 but was defeated in the Republican primary by then-Committeeman Kevin Sullivan.

This time, she’s running as a Democrat.

“As Chatham Township Democrats, our focus is on community-based candidates with proven track records of getting things done for the betterment of Chatham Township,” Chatham Township Democratic Chairman Philip Ankel said.


Mayor Adrian Mapp filed for re-election with 392 signatures, significantly more than the 50 needed to land on that ballot.

He faces challenges from School Board member Richard Wyatt, Second Ward Councilman Sean McKenna and Henrilynn Ibezim, who finished fourth in 2017’s four-person primary.

It was not immediately clear whether those three have filed their nominating petitions.

Fourth Ward Councilwoman Stacey Welch, who is running with Mapp, filed for her first full term. She was appointed to the council after Councilman Steve Hockaday won an at-large seat last year.

Spread the news: