Home>Campaigns>Final: Sean Spiller elected mayor of Montclair

Montclair Deputy Mayor Sean Spiller. Photo by Kevin Sanders for New Jersey Globe

Final: Sean Spiller elected mayor of Montclair

Yacobellis elected councilor

By David Wildstein, May 15 2020 7:00 pm

Sean M. Spiller has won his race for mayor of Montclair after 2,913 new votes than came in after election day were counted.

Spiller defeated Renee Baskerville by 195 votes, 50.7%-48.9%.  Both gave up their seats on the township council to run for mayor following the retirement of incumbent Robert Jackson.

The vice president of the New Jersey Education Association, Spiller had led the balloting by 450 votes on Tuesday night.

In the race for two at-large councilor seats, Peter Yacobellis, a former aide to New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo, received 4,472 votes.  Incumbent Robert Russo, a former mayor, won the second seat by a 4,915 to 4,577 vote margin over his running mate, Roger Terry.

Yacobellis’ running mate, James Cotter, finished fourth with 5,472 votes.  They ran on the Baskerville slate.

On Tuesday, Yacobellis had been at 4,728 votes, followed by Russo (3,640) and Terry (3,381).

Spread the news: