Home>Local>Democrats declare victory in Morris Township

Morris Township Mayor Cathy Wilson. Photo courtesy of Facebook.

Democrats declare victory in Morris Township

By Nikita Biryukov, November 16 2020 9:19 am

Morris County Mayor Cathy Wilson and running mate Bud Ravitz declared victory over their Republican challengers Monday Morning.

Ravitz, who is in second place for the two township committee seats up for election this year, leads Sandra Garcia 7,734-6,357. Republican Joseph Calvanelli has 6,281 votes, while Wilson has 8,111.

“We’ve made great strides on the environment, transportation and how we work with land use issues,” Wilson said. “I am honored to see such decisive support for our efforts and grateful for the opportunity to continue this work for another three-year term.”

Democratic victories here would mean the party would hold its 4-1 majority on the board for at least another year.

John D. Arvanites, a Democrat, did not seek re-election.

Ravitz ran for township committee last year but lost to Republican Peter Mancuso by just eight votes. Results in that race were delayed until January because of faulty glue on the envelopes of provisional ballots, which prevented them from sealing properly.

A judge eventually ordered those ballots counted. They cut Mancuso’s 15-vote lead over Ravitz in half but were not enough to bring him to victory.

Spread the news: