Home>Judiciary>List of legislators seeking judge removal up to 21

Superior Court Judge Marcia Silva

List of legislators seeking judge removal up to 21

By David Wildstein, July 16 2019 11:25 am

Three more legislators have joined the growing bi-partisan list of lawmakers who want embattled Superior Court Judges James Troiano and Marcia Silva to resign.

Assemblywomen Lisa Swain (D-Fair Lawn) and Angela McKnight (D-Jersey City) and Assemblyman Christopher Tully (D-Bergenfield) are now on board the movement to remove the two jurists for comments they made from the bench regarding separate allegations of rape involving minors.

“Everyone should be outraged on behalf of victims whose traumatic experiences were minimized by the injudiciously callous remarks of two seasoned judges. Both of them should have demonstrated sensitivity to the subject matter,” Swain and Tully said.

Silva said that the alleged rape of a 12-year-old had no physical, mental or emotional injuries beyond the loss of her virginity.  Troiano ruled that a 16-year-old boy who taped the alleged rape of a 16-year-old girl and then send the video to his friends was the result of a kid “saying stupid crap to his friends.”

“There is no room in the New Jersey court of law for officials who cannot understand just how serious rape is,” Swain and Tully said. “Without reservation, we call for their immediate removal from the bench.”

McKnight aid that “Troiano and Silva have proved to be unfit for service and must be removed from the bench immediately.”

So far, nineteen lawmakers have called for the removal of judges making controversial statements in rape cases: Senate President Steve Sweeney; Assembly Speaker Craig Coughlin; Senate Majority Leader Loretta Weinberg (D-Teaneck); State Sens. Patrick Diegnan (D-South Plainfield), Vin Gopal (D-Long Branch), Linda Greenstein (D-Plainsboro), Declan O’Scanlon (R-Little Silver), Robert Smith (D-Piscataway) and Joseph Vitale (D-Woodbridge); Assemblywomen Joann Downey (D-Freehold), Valerie Vainieri Huttle (D-Englewood), Yvonne Lopez (D-Perth Amboy), Angela McKnight (D-Jersey City), Carol Murphy (D-Mount Laurel), Nancy Munoz (R-Summit), Annette Quijano (D-Elizabeth), Verlina Reynolds-Jackson (D-Trenton); and Swain; and Assemblymen  Joe Danielsen (D-Franklin), Eric Houghtaling (D-Neptune) and Tully.

This story was updated at 4:12 PM to include some names that were inadvertently omitted.

Spread the news:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *