Home>Local>Bergen>Lagana, Swain, Tully win in the 38th district

State Sen. Joe Lagana. (Photo: Kevin Sanders for New Jersey Globe)

Lagana, Swain, Tully win in the 38th district

By Joey Fox, November 02 2021 8:30 pm

The New Jersey Globe is projecting that State Sen. Joseph Lagana (D-Paramus), Assemblywoman Lisa Swain (D-Fair Lawn), and Assemblyman Christopher Tully (D-Bergenfield) have won re-election to the 38th legislative district.

Lagana beat Richard Garcia, the president of the Newark Board of Education Employees Credit Union, while Swain and Tully defeated former Lodi school board member Al Mastrofilipo Jr. and former Saddle Brook school board member Jerry Taylor.

Republicans made noise about the 38th district potentially developing into a competitive race; all three current incumbents are new as of 2018 special elections (Lagana was previously an assemblyman), and the district doesn’t vote for Democrats by overwhelming margins.

But the Republican candidates never got the fundraising or focus they would have needed to win in the Bergen County-based district.

Final 38th district results:

Lagana 52.9% // Garcia 47.1%

Swain 26.5%, Tully 25.9% // Mastrofilipo 23.9%, Taylor 23.7%

Spread the news: