Home>Highlight>Johnson, Vainieri Huttle win re-election

Assembly Speaker Pro-Tempore Gordon Johnson (D-Englewood)

Johnson, Vainieri Huttle win re-election

By David Wildstein, November 05 2019 8:01 pm

The New Jersey Globe is projecting that Democratic incumbents Gordon Johnson and Valerie Vainieri Huttle have been re-elected to the New Jersey State Assembly in the 37th district.

They defeated Republicans Angela Hendricks and Gino Tessaro.

Johnson was elected in 2001 after serving briefly as the Bergen County Sheriff.

He was the first legislator to endorse Murphy for the Democratic gubernatorial nomination, back in 2016 when Steve Fulop and Steve Sweeney were still in the race.  Then Johnson came out in support of Craig Coughlin for Assembly Speaker against incumbent Vincent Prieto.

Prieto stripped Gordon of his Assembly Commerce and Economic Development Committee chairmanship.  Johnson got the job back after Coughlin won, and became the Speaker Pro-Tempore after Jerry Green passed away.

Vainieri Huttle, the daughter of a Hudson County Assemblyman, first ran for office in 1997 in a strong challenge to State Sen. Louis Kosco (R-Paramus).  She served as a Bergen County Freeholder before replacing Loretta Weinberg in the Assembly in 2003.

Spread the news:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *