Home>Feature>Danielsen, Egan win in LD17

Assemblyman Joseph Egan.

Danielsen, Egan win in LD17

Incumbents defeat progressive challenger

By Nikita Biryukov, June 04 2019 8:31 pm

The New Jersey Globe is calling the Democratic primary for State Assembly in the 17th district for incumbent Assemblymen Joe Danielsen and Joe Egan.

They have defeated progressive challenger Ron Rivers

The two will go on to face Patricia Badovinac and Maria Concepcion Powell, who last year ran an independent campaign for president of Mexico.

Mexico certifies anyone who expresses an interest in running as an official candidate.  Residency is not a requirement and Concepcion Powell was eligible to run because she was born in Mexico, according to the website of the National Electoral Institute, which runs the country’s elections.

Rivers, the CEO of a North Brunswick-based home-brewing supply company, and a $15-per-hour minimum wage advocate, is the executive director of OurSociety, a 501(c)(3) non-profit that seeks to remove financial barriers associated with seeking public office, was Gov. Phil Murphy’s guest at his State of the State address in January.

Republicans last held an Assembly seat in the 17th in 1985, when Angela Perun defected from the Democratic party. The GOP hasn’t won an election there since the state adopted the 40-district map in 1973.

Spread the news:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.