Home>Highlight>Coughlin creates two new Assembly committees

Assembly Speaker Craig Coughlin. Photo by Kevin Sanders for the New Jersey Globe

Coughlin creates two new Assembly committees

Speaker splits Health and Senior Services, Housing and Community Development

By David Wildstein, January 17 2020 12:07 pm

Assembly Speaker Craig Coughlin has created two new committees, splitting the Health and Senior Services and the Housing and Community Development panels.

Herbert Conaway, Jr. (D-Delran) will chair the Assembly Health Committee and Valerie Vainieri Huttle (D-Englewood) will lead the Assembly Senior Services Committee.  Conaway had previously chaired the combined committees.

Benjie Wimberly (D-Paterson), who had chaired the Housing and Community Development Committee, will lead the Housing Committee.  Shavonda Sumter (D-Paterson), who was dropped as Assembly Majority Conference Leader, the number four spot on the Democratic leadership team, gets the chair the Community Development Committee as a consolation prize.

Majority Whip Raj Mukherji (D-Jersey City) is the new Judiciary Committee chairman.  He replaces Annette Quijano (D-Elizabeth), who succeeded Sumter as Majority Conference Leader.

Angela McKnight (D-Jersey City) take over the chair of the Homeland Security Committee, which had previously been held by Vainieri Huttle.

Spread the news:
Filter by
Post Page
Highlight Legislature
Sort by

Sweeney, Coughlin hold leadership posts

Top Democratic deputies re-elected
January 14, 2020 2:00 pm


Coughlin open to reexamining OPRA’s legislative exemption

Sweeney firmly opposed
January 13, 2020 9:30 pm


Group tied to Coughlin raises $3.4 million

NJEA contributes $2.75 million to NJ United
December 23, 2019 2:05 pm


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *