Home>Campaigns>18 mayors back Space, Fantasia and Inganamort in 24th district primary

Sussex County Surrogate Gary Chiusano, third from right, with County Commissioner Dawn Fantasia, Assembyman Parker Space and Chester Mayor Mike Inganamort. (Photo: Space-Fantasia-Inganamoirt campaign).

18 mayors back Space, Fantasia and Inganamort in 24th district primary

By David Wildstein, February 16 2023 11:20 am

Eighteen Republican mayors in the 24th legislative district have signed on in support of Parker Space for State Senate and Dawn Fantasia and Mike Inganamort for Assembly in the GOP primary.

The mayors include: Lisa Chammings, Stillwater; Timothy Dooley, Hampton; John Flora, Fredon; Michael Francis, Hopatcong; George Harper, Sandyston; George Hutnick, Ogdensburg; Jon Morris, Wantage; Peg Phillips, Green; David Silverthorne, Frankford; John Sowden, Franklin Borough; Michelle Teets, Newton; Patty Zdichocki, Stanhope; and George Zitone, Montague from Sussex County.

In the Morris County portion of the district, five mayors are backing Space, Fantasia, and Inganamort, the mayor of Chester Township: Rob Greenbaum, Mt. Olive; Janet Hoven, Chester Borough; Matt Murello, Washington Township; Joe Nametko, Netcong; and Jim Rilee, Roxbury.

The group has formed the “Mayors for Parker, Dawn & Mike Coalition.”

“As a mayor, I see firsthand the State of New Jersey’s punishing attitude toward municipalities and property taxpayers, especially with this year’s severe state-mandated cost increases in healthcare premiums and pensions,” Inganamort said. “The result is that municipalities are cutting local services to fund a more bloated state government. The madness must end.”

Ten former mayors are also backing the three candidates: Sussex County Commissioner Chris Carney and Surrogate Gary Chiusano, both former Frankford mayors; former Sussex commissioner and Hopatcong mayor Sylvia Petillo; former Morris County freeholder and Mount Olive mayor Dave Scapicchio; former Sussex commissioner and Sparta mayor Josh Hertzberg; and Morris County Commissioner John Krickus, a former Washington Township mayor.

Spread the news: