Home>Highlight>Houghtaling gets committee chairmanship

Assemblyman Eric Houghtaling (D-Neptune Township)

Houghtaling gets committee chairmanship

Coughlin picks Monmouth assemblyman to lead Agriculture & Natural Resources panel

By David Wildstein, January 16 2019 10:39 am

The new chairman of the Assembly Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee is Assemblyman Eric Houghtaling (D-Neptune).

Speaker Craig Coughlin announced Houghtaling’s appointment today.

He will replace Bob Andrzejczak (D-Dennis), who resigned from the Assembly yesterday to take his seat in the State Senate.

Houghtaling’s ascension to the post will mean all three 11th district legislators will also legislative committees. State Sen. Vin Gopal (D-Long Branch) was recently named chairman of the Senate Military and Veterans Committee, and Assemblywoman Joann Downey (D-Freehold) chairs the Assembly Human Services Committee.

The Agriculture chairmanship has been in South Jersey for years.

Andrzejczak’s running mate, Nelson Albano (D-Vineland) was the committee chairman until his defeat in 2013. Assembly Speaker Vincent Prieto gave Andrzejczak the chairmanship in January 2014.

Albano got the chairmanship in 2009 when Douglas Fisher was named New Jersey Secretary of Agriculture. Fisher became chairman after Robert Smith (D-Washington Township) declined to seek re-election to the Assembly in 2005. Smith had been chairman since 2002, when Democrats won control of the Assembly.

Houghtaling is expected to seek a third term in the Assembly this year. A former Mayor of Neptune Township, he was elected in 2015 when he and Joann Downey ousted two Republican incumbents. He is a member of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local 400.

Spread the news:
Filter by
Post Page
Highlight Legislature Governor
Sort by

Opponents emerge for Downey, Houghtaling

Leading candidates for GOP nod are Amoroso, Woolley
February 19, 2019 3:25 pm


Steinhardt slams Mazzeo, Houghtaling, Downey for stop-gap budget votes

NJGOP state chairman continues early attacks against vulnerable Democrats
July 3, 2020 3:21 pm


Houghtaling is Murphy pick for bi-state fisheries post

Monmouth legislator will be NJ representative on Atlantic States Marine Fisheries
December 9, 2019 10:14 am


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *