Home>Congress>Final: Sherrill plurality was 47,362 votes

Rep. Mikie Sherill (D-Montclair) Kevin Sanders for New Jersey Globe

Final: Sherrill plurality was 47,362 votes

By David Wildstein, December 05 2018 11:57 am

The last time New Jersey’s 11th district flipped parties was in 1984, when Assembly Minority Leader Dean Gallo (R-Parsippany) unseated eleven-term Democratic Rep. Joseph Minish (D-West Orange) by 27,624, 56%-44%.

34 years later, Democrat Mikie Sherrill flipped it back by a slightly higher percentage, 57%-42%.  While Gallo won in a presidential election year by 27,624 votes, Sherrill’s mid-term plurality was 47,362, according to final 2018 election results released by the New Jersey Secretary of State.

The former U.S. Navy helicopter pilot and federal prosecutor won three of the four counties in the district in her race for an open seat created by the retirement of Rep. Rodney Frelinghuysen (R-Harding).

Sherrill won a massive 66%-33% win in Essex County, beating Assemblyman Jay Webber (R-Morris Plains) by 28,661 votes.

The Montclair Democrat also carried Morris County by 16,837 votes (55%-44%) and Passaic County by 3,051 (52%-47%).

Webber carried Sussex County by 1,187 votes, 52%-48%.

Two independent candidates, Robert Crook and Ryan Martinez, each polled less than one percent of the vote.

The 11th has 6,159 more Republicans than Democrats, and Donald Trump carried the district by 3,362 votes, 48%-47%, in 2016.

The Republican percentage in the 11th dropped by 16 points from 2016 and by 20 points from 2014.

Spread the news:


One thought on “Final: Sherrill plurality was 47,362 votes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *