Home>AAA Right>Kim, Sherrill, Van Drew vote no on Pelosi

Rep. Andy Kim. (Photo: Kevin Sanders for the New Jersey Globe).

Kim, Sherrill, Van Drew vote no on Pelosi

Gottheimer backs Pelosi for Speaker

By David Wildstein, November 28 2018 3:33 pm

Two newly elected House members from New Jersey voted against Nancy Pelosi for Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives today.

Reps.-elect Andy Kim (D-Marlton) and Mikie Sherrill (D-Montclair) opposed Pelosi, following through on pledges they made during their campaigns.

Rep. Josh Gottheimer (D-Wyckoff), who had been undecided, voted yes on Pelosi.

“I will approach every decision I make in Congress based on one thing –  what is best for all of the people of Ocean and Burlington counties. I decided not to support Leader Pelosi in today’s caucus vote and I continue to urge leaders in Congress to find ways to lift up more voices,” Kim said.  “I am working hard to make sure my office is set up to best serve New Jersey families with integrity and transparency.”

“Back in May, I made a commitment to the residents of NJ-11 that I would seek new leaders in Congress who were going to help us move forward on the priorities here in our district,” Sherrill said in a statement released this afternoon.  “For that reason, today in caucus I did not support Nancy Pelosi for Speaker of the House.”

Rep.-elect Jeff Van Drew (D-Dennis) also voted against Pelosi.

Pelosi won 203-32.

Since non-voting delegates to the House were included in that count, Pelosi goes in to the January 3 House reorganization with 200 votes.  She still needs to win over 18 of the 32 House members who did not vote for her today.

Spread the news:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.